George Souris MP



Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Hospitality and Racing Minister for the Arts

MEDIA RELEASE

Wednesday 10 October, 2012

FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR 2012 NSW TOURISM AWARDS

Minister for Tourism and Major Events, George Souris, today congratulated the finalists of the 2012 NSW Tourism Awards.

"The Awards are an opportunity for this key NSW industry to celebrate the hard work of individuals and organisations who strive for excellence and the shared common goal of ensuring NSW is the number one visitor destination in Australia," Mr Souris said.

"Honouring innovation and the achievements of business and individuals through the NSW Tourism Awards underscores their contribution toward the expansion and development of the industry," Mr Souris added.

Now in its 23rd year, the NSW Tourism Awards are presented by the Tourism Industry Council NSW, with Destination NSW as the major sponsor.

Ken Corbett, Chairman of Tourism Industry Council NSW, was particularly impressed with the standard of this year's submissions.

"This year's exceptionally high standard of entries makes for a highly competitive contest. We received a large number of submissions across all the categories but particularly in the Deluxe Accommodation, Tourist and Caravan Parks, Festivals and Events and Tourist Attractions fields.

"The Tourism Industry Council NSW congratulates all the finalists for reaching this stage. It's a great achievement to get this far." Mr Corbett said.

Destination NSW Chief Executive Officer, Sandra Chipchase said tourism was an important economic driver for NSW.

"The tourism industry contributes \$20.2 billion per year in overnight visitor expenditure to the NSW economy and tourism employment now accounts for one in every 23 jobs in NSW," Ms Chipchase said.

"Acknowledging the industry through these awards highlights the diversity and strength of attractions and experiences in NSW and the vital role the industry plays in the State's economy."

The NSW Tourism Awards are a submission and inspection-based competition and include 31 categories across the industry.

Winners of the 2012 NSW Tourism Awards will be announced at a gala ceremony on Thursday 22 November at Le Montage, Lilyfield.

For information on the award finalists and to purchase tickets to the ceremony visit http://www.nswtourismawards.com.au/